Racism in Toronto LGBT/Police

Blog Posts

By: Collin Zinn


Topic Article: "Fellow Gay White Men: Our Experience With Police Isn't The Norm"

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/aeryn-pfaff/pride-toronto-black-lives-matter_b_12231736.html


February 11, 2018

Annotated Bibliography

Lanzerotti, Rachel, et al. "RACISM IN QUEER COMMUNITIES: WHAT CAN WHITE PEOPLE DO?" Race, Gender & Class, Volume 9,

Issue 1, 2002, pg. 55. http://ezproxy.library.yorku.ca/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/218807789?accountid=15182

In this scholarly journal written in Race, Gender & Class, "RACISM IN QUEER COMMUNITIES: WHAT CAN WHITE PEOPLE DO?" we see a more optimistic view with the same argument as my topic article. This journal article approaches the topic of racism within the queer communities by using anti-racism as a teaching tool. The point of this article is not to shame but to educate queer communities. This will be a very important article to furthering my research since it is fairly similar to my topic yet it was written over a decade before BLMT protested in 2016.

Dwyer, Angela. "Teaching Young Queers A Lesson: How Police Teach Lessons About Non-Heteronormativity in Public

Spaces." Sexuality & Culture, Volume 19, Issue 3, 2015, pg 493-512. http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s12119-015-9273-6 

In this scholarly journal by Angela Dwyer, "Teaching Young Queers A Lesson: How Police Teach Lessons About Non-Heteronormativity in Public Space" discusses how LGBT young people are learning from police and what they are learning. In this article the learning is negative as it discusses that LGBT youth avoid "looking queer" to reduce police harm and interactions. Its an interesting article as it has the correlation between LGBT youth and police, possibly discussing how to change that relationship. It is helpful to me as it contains data that will be useful in stating the facts about my topic. This article also predates the events of Pride in 2016.

February 4, 2018

Podcast Pitch - Audio

Podcast Pitch - Transcript

It was Pride 2016 in Toronto, I was standing behind the barricades for the Parade on Yonge street watching the different parade floats go by. That was when the parade came to an abrupt halt in front of me. Colourful smoke filled the sky, It was Black Lives Matter Toronto who had stopped the parade to protest the police presence at Pride. I cheered for their confidence and supported their movement. That’s when I realized I was alone, that the community that was supposed to support each was standing in silence or booing their cause.

In the months that followed a conversation started. A conversation about Black Lives Matters Toronto interrupting a day of "fun", disrespecting the people who came to watch a parade, and their demands to remove Police from marching in the parade. But more importantly a conversation about Racism within the Queer community and the disturbing history between the Toronto Police Department and The Queer community in Toronto.

In Aeryn Pfaffs article "Fellow Gay White Men: Our Experience With Police Isn't The Norm" he argues that racism is alive and well  by calling out Gay White Men on their racist stance towards Black Lives Matter Toronto. Stating an "us versus them" hostility from gay white men and Black Lives Matter Toronto,  whose chapters are founded by mainly queer and trans people.

Did we forget who fought for us to march in this Parade? Did we forget what the first Pride "Parade" looked like? Do we ignore the racism that is blatantly obvious within our community? Did our community forget what it means to be a community? Did we forget who we are?

These questions have rippled through the Toronto LGBTQ community. As a rally cry to fight against the oppressive nature of our own community. To fight against those who oppress any members of our community.

As we approach the 2018 Toronto Pride Parade the controversial argument of racism within our community and within the Toronto Police Department continues, with strong beliefs against Black Lives Matter Toronto presence at Pride or Against The Toronto Police Departments presence at pride. In this episode we will explore these beliefs further and hopefully find a better understanding as to why Black Lives Matter Toronto's presence at pride is necessary and what the future of Pride could mean.

Annotated Bibliography

Thompson, Nicole. "Toronto police offended Pride organizers accepted Black Lives Matter's demands." Chronicle-Herald, 05 July

2016, http://ezproxy.library.yorku.ca/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/1801895853?accountid=15182

In the article "Toronto police offended Pride organizers accepted Black Lives Matter's demands," Nicole Thompson we see an opinion in favour of keeping Toronto Police marching at Pride. Unlike other articles that have this opinion Thompson holds a fairly rational view on the situation. A contradictory opinion to my own with important insight. This article will be useful in contradicting my own arguments in order to strengthen my stance.

Levy, Sue-Ann. "Parade Hijacked." 24 Hours Toronto, 04 July 2016.

In this article by Sue-Ann Levy called "Parade Hijacked," another discussion against the Toronto Police removal from Pride is seen. Sue-Ann Levy is a known Conservative LGBT writer. She expresses some fairly irrational and emotional opinions against Black Lives Matters Toronto in both articles I have posted. These articles will be important tools in contradicting my topic articles opinion on this situation, narrowing my argument to more specific information to use. 


January 27, 2018

Annotated Bibliography

Dolski, Megan. "Controversy Over Roles of BLM and Police Rains on the Parade." The Globe and Mail, 28 July 2016, Canadian Major

Dailies, http://ezproxy.library.yorku.ca/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/1807201267?accountid=15182.

A news article written by Megan Dolski in The Globe and Mail. "Controversy Over Roles of BLM and Police Rains on the Parade" discusses how the controversy of the BLM protests at various different Pride events in Canada and the US in 2016, specifically in Vancouver. It shows a fairly objective voice describing the events and wants of BLM for the Police, it leaves out the subjective opinions both groups have said about the other. This article is useful as it gives a broad overview of the controversy without being an opinion piece.

Levy, Sue-Ann. "Cop ban lays waste to Pride Parade." Toronto Sun, 20 Junehttp://torontosun.com/2017/06/20/cop-ban-lays-

waste-to-pride-parade/wcm/43ac8a03-278d-4b22-bde6-fa2f72e5e1dd

Filed under news, "Cop ban lays waste to Pride Parade." written by Sue-Ann Levy, can be read as a opinion piece with clear objections to the opinion piece used in this assignment. It attacks politicians, Pride organizers, and BLMT immediately by blaming them for a "pathetic" pride event. This piece comes almost a year after the initial BLMT protest, the upcoming Pride Parade had banned police presence from marching. It makes an attempt to drown out the queer voices who support BLMT by using quotation marks as a written "eye-roll" and various other word (like pathetic) to put down anyone with opposing opinions. This piece and other pieces like it are crucial to my research and building a strong opposing argument. 


January 21, 2018

Annotated Bibliography

Gee, Marcus. "Toronto police response to Gay Village disappearances demands explanation." The

Globe And Mail, 18 January 2018, https://www.theglobeandmail.com/opinion/toronto-police-response-to-gay-village-disappearances-demands-explanation/article37663760/

This opinion piece written by Marcus Gee, discusses the recently arrested Toronto Gay Village serial killer. It is the most current example of racism and homophobia within the Toronto Police department. Marcus Gee discusses how the Toronto Gay Village has been aware of the serial killer for years now. An important fact as I've heard rumors since I moved to Toronto 4 years ago, of racialized gay men disappearing from the Toronto Gay Village. A story that is sure to continue to develop.

Pfaff, Aeryn. "'We Got Her On Time and We've All Been Locked Out'; Black Lives Matter Toronto

Disrupt Police Board Meeting." Torontoist, 21 June, 2017, https://torontoist.com/2017/06/got-time-weve-locked-black-lives-matter-toronto-disrupt-police-board-meeting/

This opinion piece written by Aeryn Pfaff, discusses Black Lives Matter Toronto being locked out of a Toronto Police board meeting. It gives insight into the Black Lives Matter Toronto movement and how they are seen by the Toronto Police. A year after they protested police presence at Pride Toronto 2016 and a week before Pride Toronto 2017. A continued issue that brings significant insight into the BLMT movement and has a direct connection to my chosen article by the same author.